Your Community is Important.. Place Matters.

Stay Connected

To join our email list 



Stay Connected

What is Housing Discrimination?

The federal Fair Housing Act says that it is unlawful to discriminate against a person(s) in any housing related transaction who fall under one of the federal protected classes. Those transactions include but are not limited to, rental, sales, lending or insurance. 

7 Protected Classes

Both the federal and Alabama state laws recognize the following protected classes:


  • Race (any race)
  • Color (any color)
  • Religion (any religion or no religion)
  • National Origin (any nationality)
  • Sex (gender/sexual harrassment/LGBT*)
  • Handicap (disability)
  • Familial status (the presence of children under 18 in the family or for being pregnant)

*Only specific HUD housing covers LGBT discrimination